Modi 3.0 swears into office

Scripting a history, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday took over as Prime Minister for a third consecutive term becoming the first non-Congress leader and second after first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru to don the mantle. With this Modi also becomes the only leader in the country to hold a constitutional post back to back for more than two decades which includes — three term as PM and prior serving 12 years as Chief Minister of Gujarat.

President Draupadi Murmu administered Modi the oath of office and with this he also become the only PM to have been administered the oath by three presidents, including Pranab Mukherjee and Ramnath Kovind. Modi also under his regime was part of the consecration of Ram Temple in Ayodhaya early this year and dedicated to the nation a new Parliament last year in September.

If Modi completes his current five year term as PM leading the NDA regime he will have served a total of 27 years in office. He has been since leading his party to victory and power in 2002, 2007 and 2012 in Gujarat as CM and then in 2014 and 2019 at the Centre and again in 2024. It is though different this time as the BJP has lost majority on its own.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *